This is the "English" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2016 URL: http://academy.vic.libguides.com/content.php?pid=563353 Print Guide RSS Updates

English Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ABC Live

 

How and Why We Read

A Crash Course in Literature with John Green

Dictionaries and other useful sites

  • Acronym Finder
  • AustLit
    AustLit aims to be the definitive virtual research environment and information resource for Australian literary, print, and narrative culture
  • Cambridge Dictionaries Online
  • Dictionary.com
    As well as checking the meaning of words you can complete a crossword, translate from one language into another, check the "Words of the Day" and get writing tips.
  • Forvo
    All the words in the world pronounced
  • Internet Archive
    The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 6,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks.
  • Lexipedia
    Where words have meaning
  • Reading Australia
    Online teacher resources and essays for significant Australian literary works.
  • Rewordify
    Paste words, phrases or sentences in the yellow box and click to see an easier version.
  • Visual Dictionary Online
  • Visual Thesaurus
  • Visualise Poetry Around the World
    This site aims to encourage students’ global awareness and their ability to share their traditions and experiences based on their cultural heritage or geographic locations.
  • Visuwords
    Online graphical dictionary

Grammar

Grammar for English learners:

Grammar Topics:

 

Did you know that around 14.7 new words a day are entering the English language? (Global Language Monitor)

 

      
     

    Spelling


    (Wikimedia Commons)

    Links:

    Anglia Campus: Spelling: Tips, strategies and reminders.

    Funbrain Spellcheck: An online spelling game

    Reading Writing Hotline: A list of links and activities to help with your spelling.

    Spelling City: A web site which includes activities, games and spelling lists.

    Spelling Help Online: This website offers a practical guide which will hopefully help you in your  quest to improve your spelling.

    Spelling It Right: Free printable worksheets, help and advice from an experienced English teacher and examiner.


    Try a free trial of this commercial program.

     

    Anglo-link

     

    Newspapers


    Digital collection of 20 years of the Koori Mail – Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.


    Read your local paper anywhere, anytime!

    Newspaper Map: Filter by language, newspaper and location.


    Links to major Australian papers. It provides access to abbreviated versions of the paper free of charge.

    Online Newspaper Directory for the World: Thousands of newspapers listed by country and region.


    Digitised newspapers from around Australia.

    Newspaper Databases: 

    Use Newscan and Proquest to help you find articles from the newspapers.


    Improve your writing skills

    Vocabulary.com:
    Regardless of your education level or age, Vocabulary.com will help you to master the words that are essential to academic and business success.

    The University of Sydney provides online support to help you develop your academic and professional writing skills.           

    Writing Science Fiction and Fantasy: This course is designed to help you learn many of the skills you need to write successful science fiction and fantasy stories. You can use the skills you'll learn here in other kinds of storytelling, as well.

    Writing World: Learn how to write speculative fiction, fantasy, horror and science fiction.

        

      Medieval Manuscripts

       

      A World of Words: The Catholicon Anglicum, a fifteenth-century English-Latin dictionary acquired by the British Library earlier this year, is now fully online on Digitised Manuscripts.

          
         

        Medieval Help Desk

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip